Monthly Flashback

{Hi everyone, it’s Julia here. We are going to have a monthly highlight telling about our experiences in writing during the past month. Unfortunately, a few of our authors were unable to participate. But please, enjoy!}


 

This month has been hard.

Like, really hard.

I finished adding in the second POV chapters for my novel, and I completed a full read through… and the issues are popping out at me.

Now it’s up to Beta Readers to give me some broad feedback, and, in the meantime, I’m working on a spankin’ new idea, plotting it out for NaNoWriMo (or National Novel Writing Month).

If there’s enough demand, I might post a synopsis sometime soon!

Anyways, I should probably get back to writing.

Live long and eat lots of chocolate.
-Becca


I have been editing and revising my book, Reborn, so that I can complete the official second draft. I have also been working on the character development of my new book, which is still untitled.

September was a slow month, but I made it a priority to write a little every day.

I also always journal at the end of the day so that I do not lose my writing skills.

-Melayna


 

I’m going to be perfectly honest with you guys.

I haven’t written really much at all this past month…

I know, awful right?

But to be honest, I probably learned more this month then all those months I wrote consistently. I’ve been challenged, hammered, and beaten SO many times. The great thing is, I actually feel motivated now. I’m done procrastinating. I’m done punching my pillow over a stubborn character.

Despite my heavy burden of school, I’ve managed to sneak in a couple of good reads. But my ultimate favorite is the Glass Sword. SO AMAZING! I’m not going to spill anything else, because I may write a review on that series.

But after reading that book, it really helped me realize all the structural and dialogue problems I have. REALLY. I know a first rough draft isn’t going to be good, but I’m a perfectionist, so I expect it at LEAST to look a little promising.

But this is what I’ve learned. Writing isn’t always messy. Usually it’s a blood bath.

Just saying.

I struggle with bringing my story to life. I struggle with LIKING my story enough to want to finish it. My stories become annoying friends that are constantly bugging me until I never want to see them again. And when that happens… THE END.

Here’s the deal with me.

I don’t like the story I’m writing now….UGH. Which makes it hard because I have another AWESOME idea which I’ve started writing (I know, stupid of me) and I REALLY like it. But I promised myself I would finish my first story! Story of my life… (ha ha ha don’t notice that awful pun I just made…)

Thanks for reading this little post of me venting about all my writing problems and what I’ve learned from them.

Make sure to drink lots of coffee today,

-Julia H


 

Thanks for reading!!! What was your writing experience this past month? We’d love to hear about it! 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Flashback

Leave a Reply

