The In Between

My passion, gone, like the fleeting summer’s heat

Neither frozen nor burning do I feel

I await in limbo for more sentiment to greet

Desiring proof for my heart’s death or heal.

 

You released my heart from your grasp

Like a bleeding autumn leaf tumbling to its death.

I clung to the string with a longing clasp

But you left my heart to rot till its last breath.

 

I thrived on the burning heat of misery

I relied on the freezing ice of hatred

But the summer breeze became wintry

And the snow has long melted.

 

Now as you can see, you left me in purgatory

Hoping for a new love to wrench me free.

-Melayna

Leave a Reply

