The BFG

When I was 7 years old, I was introduced to my favorite book in the world: the BFG.

So, you can imagine my excitement when i heard that the film adaption of my favorite book was coming to screen. I was ecstatic actually.

So, I know what you’re thinking: Ok, what is this BFG movie about?

10 year old Sophie has spent her entire life in the orphanage, until one night she is whisked away by an enormous, 24-foot giant. At first she’s afraid, but gradually develops a friendship with this friendly giant. Their friendship, however, brings about suspicions from the other giants, who, unlike the BFG, love to eat humans. Sophie and the BFG decide to seek help from one of the most powerful humans on earth: The Queen of England.

tumblr_o8qw3bY76v1swrlk9o5_r1_540.gif

To be completely honest, I had low expectations for this movie. Most book-to-film adaptions I’ve seen aren’t amazing, and the trailer left me a little skeptical of how it would turn out.

Boy.

Was I wrong.

tumblr_o9m1j0jNrq1rwfctbo3_500.gif

This movie is easily one of the best book-to-film adaptions I have ever seen.They stuck to the plot, and covered every single section and plot twist of the book.

The characters were exactly how I imagined them (which isn’t an easy thing to accomplish) and the actors were tremendous.

The girl who played Sophie did an amazing job, considering that for about 7/8 of the movie, she’s acting with a green screen and barely any real actors. For maybe one scene in the beginning of the movie, her acting was a little off, but can we really blame her? She’s talking to a green screen giant for goodness sake.

Overall, I’d give this movie 4.5 out of 5 stars. It was funny, moving, and brilliantly adapted from Roald Dahl’s book. Plus, they got Penelope Wilton to play the Queen of England, so points for that!

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

c838c240-dd98-0133-e1c9-0e82a5619f43.gif

Siempre,

Sanna

3 thoughts on “The BFG

  1. I read the BFG 10 times when I was little so I refused to see the movie because I was afraid of how they would destroy it. Thank you for letting me now it was well done. I might actually see it now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

