Spiritless

I danced with the breeze as the sun rose

 Harlequin rays illuminating my

Steps. Spinning freely in meadows of Melrose

Until April’s breath was smothered by thy.

The flames rose high planting their beams on me.

The flowing river ceased within my soul.

I reached towards my calliope

Spirit extinguished my song you stole.

I rested on grains, seeds never to grow

Watching flames tumble away from my grasp

My rivers dried up and for all I know

Dangling my dreams you will not unclasp.

Now here I sit, a slave to lusterless

Once full of life now empty, spiritless.

Leave a Reply

