Guest Post: Character Tips

Hey everyone! I’m Natalie (Indie, if you know me from etherealpens) and I’m going to be sharing some cool tips on characters.

If you’re like me and have a very short attention span and way too many ideas, creating characters can be difficult. I sit down to work on my characters and suddenly I’m on YouTube. I love/hate it when that happens.

Here are some things for you to do in a short span of time that will not only help you to visualize your character but will hopefully get you writing your story sooner:

 

  1. Sheets

Here is an idea for sheets. You can fill it in relatively quickly. I’ve used this one multiple times. Personally, I like to “pants” my characters and plot my story.

While sheets like these are mostly appearance and backstory, knowing your character inside and out definitely helps when working on emotional or simply difficult scenes. I’ve filled the following one out with examples.

Character Name: Corinna Beauregard

Hair Color: Pink ombre

Eye Color: Hazel

Height: 5’ 6”

Build: Pretty frail but has muscular arms

Age: 17

Born: January 10th, 2000

Died: I hope not anytime soon…

Clothing: Emo/scene style

Personal Item(s): Butterfly pendant

Likes: Music, art, and science fiction

Dislikes: Spaghetti

Father: Dominick Beauregard

Mother: GiGi Beauregard

Sister(s): None

Brother(s): Jim & Greg

Educational Background: Graduated from local high school

Occupation: Works part-time at Panera

Residence: Third-floor apartment

Character’s Story:

Wants: To feel accepted

Needs: To stay alive

Quirks: Rolls her eyes way too much

Who are they now? It’s up to you!!

b. Pinterest story-boards

Yes, you can use Pinterest. Just make a board, name it with your title, and get posting! This will help you visualize characters and help you see your setting.

Thanks for hanging in there with me.

Happy Camp NaNoWriMo,

Natalie

Leave a Reply

