Book Suggestions

Hello, my fellow writers. Today I am going to give you a book suggestion for each book genre and a short sentence about why I love that particular book.

Non Fiction: Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand.  Unbroken is a beautiful biography, telling the incredible story of a WWII soldier and Olympic runner.  I recommend this book to anyone who loves inspirational stories and also enjoys learning about war statistics and details on how war machinery was used.

Fiction: This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald. This was the first book Fitzgerald ever wrote and as a huge fan of Fitzgerald, I can say this is by far my favorite book by him.  He utilizes every word to perfection in all of his books, but this book in particular has great utilization of words and philosophies, telling the story of a boy who is too focused on worldly things.

Historical Fiction: Gone With the Wind: I personally have hundreds of favorite books, but Gone With the Wind is definitely near the top of this list. I love books about the Civil War, and this is by far the best in my opinion.  There are so many hidden meanings behind everything that happens in this book on top of the beautiful writing and the fact that the author intentionally makes you dislike the main character while at the same time falling in love with her story.

Comedy: The Princess Bride: I have heard a lot of negative things about this book, but I think it is because most readers are expecting an epic adventure romance, which do not get me wrong it kind of is, but The Princess Bride is more so a comedy.  If I tell you that the movie is the best book to movie remake I have ever seen being word for word from the book your expectations become a little different.  I highly recommend this book to those who are looking for something fun and funny to read.

Drama: Of Mice and Men: This a short book with a large story.   Telling the tale of a man and his friend with special needs, this book will warm your heart and tear it to shreds in about a hundred pages.

Horror: Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier: If you like creepy, mystery, suspensful, yet well-written and meaningful books, this one if for you. It is impossible to put this novel down.

Realistic Fiction: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton: This is another short novel that will cause you to fall in love with the characters and break your heart in just a few pages. Set in Oklahoma in the 1900s. This book portrays the tough lives of a few hard-hearted yet loving teenage boys.

Romance: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: Okay, do not laugh at me for putting this very obvious book down.  The Fault in Our Stars is an incredible book not only centered on the love between two teenagers but also incredible friendships and love of stories.

Satire: The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis: This novel about the correspondence between a man and a devil has great satirical humor that highlights the faults of man.

Tragedy: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy: This novel is a Russian Literature masterpeice portraying the effects that mortal sin can cause upon an entire family.  I have previously posted a book review on Anna Karenina for those who would like to learn more about this incredible novel.  It is under the category of book review.

Tragicomedy: Empire Falls by Richard Russo: For those of you who, like me, live in a small town, this is the book for you. Telling the story of an average man living in a pretty unknown average town, it demonstrates the importance of each persons story, even that of an extremely average person.

Fantasy: The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare: For those of you who are obsessed with the City of Bones Books I allow you to correct me on the statement I am about to make.  This trilogy is a prelude to the City of Bones series, but it is not necessary to read the City of Bones because it is simply set in the same world.  I personally really dislike the City of Bones but am completely in love with the Infernal Devices.  I cannot put these books down, and they contain the best love triangle I have ever read.

Mythology: Percy Jackson and the Olympians: Okay, these books were my childhood. I’ve read this series five times. That’s really all I can say ,other than if you have not read these books, you must, before going on a very long rant.

Christian: Tattoos on the Heart by Gregory Boyle: This is the story of how one man helped and converted, and continues to do so, hundreds of gang members in the United States.

Christian Fiction: The Shack by William P. Young: Okay, I have heard a lot of negativity about the movie, but you have to keep in mind this is Christian Fiction so it is based on Christian beliefs but everything is not direct references to the bible.  This is the story of how one man comes to terms with the tragic death of his daughter through a personal encounter with the trinity.

I hope you are inspired to take the time to read some of these beautiful novels.

Love,

Melayna

Leave a Reply

